Document Languages

ABBYY FineReader recognizes both mono- and multi-lingual (e.g. written in two languages) documents. For multi-lingual documents, you must select several recognition languages.

To set the document recognition language, in the Pages window (or the New Task window, if you are using quick tasks), use the Document Languages drop-down list, and select one of the following:

There are several reasons that a language may not be listed:

  1. The language is not supported by ABBYY FineReader.

    For details, see Supported Languages.

  2. The language was disabled during custom installation.

    To install additional recognition languages: