Creating a Language Group

If you are going to use a particular language combination regularly, you may wish to group the languages together for convenience.

  1. On the Tools menu, click Language Editor….
  2. In the Language Editor dialog box, click New….
  3. In the New Language or Group dialog box, select Create a new group of languages and click OK.
  4. In the Language Group Properties dialog box, type a name for your new group and select the desired languages.

    Note: If you know that your text will not contain certain characters, you may wish to explicitly specify these so-called prohibited characters. Specifying prohibited characters can increase both recognition speed and quality. To specify prohibited characters, click the Advanced… button in the Language Group Properties dialog box. In the Advanced Language Group Properties dialog box, type the prohibited characters in the Prohibited characters field.

  5. Click OK.

The newly created group will be added to the Document Languages drop-down list in the main window.

By default, user language groups are saved in the ABBYY FineReader document folder. You can also save all your user languages and patterns to one file: Select Tools>Options…, click the Read tab, and then click the Save to File… button.

Tip. If you need a particular language combination for a document, you can also select the desired languages directly, without creating a group.

  1. From the Document Languages drop-down list, select More languages…
  2. In the Language Editor dialog box, select Specify languages manually.
  3. Select the desired languages and click OK.