If your device does not have enough storage capacity for all of the files in your library that you want to synchronize, content in your categories and playlists is automatically synchronized to your device in priority order. This allows your favorite content to be synchronized to your device first.
When content is synchronized according to priority, higher priority content is synchronized to your device and lower priority content on the device is removed to make room for the higher priority content (if necessary). When low priority content is removed from the device during synchronization, it is not removed from your library.
Windows Media Player observes the following priority by default when synchronizing content to your device:
Any playlists that you have created are added to the top of the priority list. Also, some categories in the priority list may not be displayed if the Player detects that your device does not support playing or viewing the content in the category. For example, if your device does not support the viewing of pictures, the categories—Pictures taken in the last month, Pictures rated at 4 or 5 stars, and All Pictures—are not displayed.
Use the procedure in this section to view or change the content priority for a partnership to synchronize content to your device automatically.
This section covers: